SuperOffice-logo

How do I retire a SuperOffice user and reassign the records he created in SuperOffice to another user using Bulk update?

(Open in new window)

Question

I want to retire (delete) a user in our SuperOffice CRM, but maintain overview of  his companies, activities, tasks, sales and projects. How do I do it?

Answer

To retire a user and do not to loose an overview of the data this user has created, you can follow the procedure described below:

Step 1. Make 4 dynamic selections of companies, activities, sales and projects

Step 2. Reassign all former employee's companies to a new user

Step 3. Reassign all former employee`s outstanding follow-ups to a new user

Step 4. Reassign all former employee's open sales to a new user

Step 5. Reassign all former employee's open projects to a new user

Step 6. Retire the user

 

Note!  

  1. Do not retire the employee before completing tasks in the step 1.
     
  2. After changing the owner of companies, activities/follow-ups, sales and projects, these records will disappear from the selection. If you want to retain the original list of outstanding work / ownership, copy selections and make them static selections.
     
  3. Bulk Update cannot be undone. That's why we recommend creating a database backup before making any large data updates if SuperOffice is installed onsite, please refer to this FAQ that explains how to do it. If you use SuperOffice Online, you do not have to do anything extra, as backups are created automatically.
     
  4. To be able to perform the steps, your SuperOffice administrator needs to assign you the functional rights to Allow bulk update.



 

Step 1. Make a dynamic selections of companies, activities, sales and projects which belongs to the employee you want to retire

  1.  Selection of all companies, which are owned by the employee you are going to retire.


     
  2. Selection of all uncompleted activities/ follow-ups owned by the employee you are going to retire.


     
  3. Selection of all uncompleted sales owned by the employee you are going to retire.


     
  4. Selection of all open/uncompleted projects owned by the employee you are going to retire.


     

Step 2. Reassign all former employee's companies to a new user

  1. Go to the company selection you created in the Step 1.
     
  2. Click on the Task tab and Bulk update button.


     
  3. Click on Our contact field, select a user that you want to assign companies to and click Update.


     
  4. Click Yes to confirm an update.

 

Step 3. Reassign all former employee`s outstanding follow-ups to a new user

  1. Go to the follow-up selection you created in the Step 1.
     
  2. Click on the Task tab and Bulk update button.


     
  3. Click on User ID field, select a user that you want to assign follow-ups to and click Update.


     
  4. Click Yes to confirm an update.


     

Step 4. Reassign all former employee's open sales to a new user

  1. Go to the sales selection you created in the Step 1.
     
  2. Click on the Task tab and Bulk update button.


     
  3. Click on Owner field, select a user that you want to assign sales to and click Update.


     
  4. Click Yes to confirm an update.


     

Step 5. Reassign all former employee's open projects to a new user

  1. Go to the project selection you created in the Step 1.
     
  2. Click on the Task tab and Bulk update button.


     
  3. Click on Responsible field, select a user that you want to assign sales to and click Update.


     
  4. Click Yes to confirm an update.

After all companies, sales, follow-up`s and projects are reassigned to a new user, the other user might be deleted, marked as a former employee or inactive user. 

 

More information:

Article: Help to get started with your new version​

Article: 6 things you need to know after the upgrade​

Article: New feature: Bulk Update​

Video: How to mass update information in SuperOffice CRM

Video: How to add a new user in the administrator module - SuperOffice 8​

Help file: Delete users

Blog: Moving Associates

Other languages

NO 

Details

Language: EN
Version: 8.1 R01 Onsite 2017.10.17-3 (8.1.6499.1437)→8.5 CRM Online R11 (2020.02.27)
Product: Administration Client,Sales & Marketing (CRM client)
Product area: Create or edit users,Settings / Configuration

Score

Poor  Good

Tags

  1. Application